# LONGWOOD UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

### March 21, 2024

### Minutes

#### \*\*\*\*\* **DRAFT** \*\*\*\*\*

#### **Call to Order**

The Longwood University Board of Visitors met on Thursday, March 21 in Radcliff Hall. The meeting was called to order at 5 p.m. by Rector Katharine Bond.

Members present: Katharine Bond Shawn Smith Ricshawn Adkins Roane Ron White (joined for dinner) Polly Raible Brian Schmalzbach Fabiola Carter Steven Gould Jeff Nottingham Polly Raible

Also present: President W. Taylor Reveley IV Cameron O'Brion, University Counsel Larissa Smith, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Rector welcomed the Board and asked for a motion to pass the Consent Agenda and Division I Athletic Team Addition and Removal Policy. Shawn Smith so moved, Jeff Nottingham seconded and the motion was approved unanimously.

The secretary asked for a motion pursuant to Virginia Code 2.2-3711(A)(1) that the Board convene in closed session to discuss matters related to personnel. Polly Raible so moved, Steven Gould seconded and the motion was approved unanimously.

In compliance with the provisions of the Freedom of Information Act, the Board returned to open session. Shawn Smith moved that the board certify by roll call vote that, to the best of each member's knowledge, 1) only matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements were discussed, and 2) only matters identified in the motion for closed session were discussed. Fabiola Carter seconded and all members in attendance voted by roll call to certify: Katharine Bond, Shawn Smith, Ricshawn Adkins Roane, Polly Raible, Brian Schmalzbach, Fabiola Carter Steven Gould, Jeff Nottingham, and Polly Raible.

The Rector asked for a motion to approve the recommendations of the Provost and President as presented to the Board regarding promotion, tenure and emeritus status. As follows:

## **Awarded Emeritus Status**

Jennifer Apperson (Counseling) Bill Burger (Sociology) Sharon Emerson-Stonnell (Mathematics) Charles Kinzer (Music)

### **Promotion to Professor**

Sara Blincoe (Psychology) Karla Collins (School Librarianship) Adam Franssen (Biology) Patti Hastings (Elementary Education) Dina Leech (Biology) Robert Marmorstein (Computer Science) Pamela McDermott (Music) Jake Milne (Sociology) Jo Morrison (Exercise Science) Adam Paulek (Ceramics) Shannon Salley (Speech Language Pathology) Leah Shilling-Stouffer (Mathematics Education)

## Promotion to Associate Professor and Award of Tenure

Kristen Boyle (Mathematics) Ian Danielsen (Social Work) Isabel Fay (Communication Studies) Scott Grether (Sociology) Gregg Harbaugh-Schattenkirk (Statistics) Steven Hoehner (Mathematics) Jeff Ledford (Mathematics) Pam Randall (Education) Marsha Rutledge (Counselor Education) Tyler St. Clair (Science Education) Dorothy Suskind (Education)

### **Promotion to Senior Lecturer**

Hannah Dudley-Shotwell (History & Honors) Emmett Jones (American Sign Language)

Ricshawn Adkins Roane so moved, Brian Schmalzbach seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 6 p.m. The Board gathered for dinner at the Moton Museum, and on Friday some members traveled to Memphis to attend the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Tournament featuring Longwood vs. the University of Houston.